What’s in a name? Am I getting warmer?

(version française ci-dessous)

 

A few days before Christmas, Elliot and I walked back out to Parc des Royaux and saw some grand fireworks all the way from the Old Port.  After doing some painting in the house today, it was a nice break and made me glad all in all to be in a new part of town.

 

In the past few weeks, I have been asking around the area what neighbourhood we are in.  The first person I asked at the bus stop summed up my thoughts perfectly with this answer: « depends, are we talking about Federal, Provincial… or Municipal? » and ultimately since no one knows « Sainte-Marie » which is the neighbourhood according to the City of Montreal’s website, he has since given up when people ask him where he lives.  He now answers by stating the nearest major street corner.

 

Other answers I got were « Ville Marie » although I tried to explain to the lady that it stretched way into downtown so it was more of a borough.  At the dog park at Parc des Royaux though I got a clear « Sainte-Marie » answer from three individuals.  Back on the City of Montreal website, it says that the neighbourhood has two metros stations « Frontenac and Papineau ».  Hmm… isn’t Papineau at the edge of the Gay Village?  But perhaps I am getting closer to the name itself.  Perhaps Sainte-Marie is the area’s modern day name even though it’s seldomly used or little known.  Perhaps I should change the blog’s title to Le Coeur de Sainte-Marie?  Maybe, but I am still not convinced.  That being said, my little obsession of the area moniker now goes much beyond what it is called.  I now have an urge to do some research at the library (haven’t got that itch in years), talk with more people locally to see how this area developed and attend more community events (the only one I did so far was go to the Polish Church bazaar a few weeks ago which was fun… my wife is lucky, I actually like bazaars).  Anyhow, let’s see what I uncover in the next while.

 

(version française)

 

Quelques journées avant noël, Elliot et moi sommes marchés au Parc des Royaux et on a vu des feux d’artifices qui provenait du Vieux Port.  Après avoir peinturé dans la maison  cette journée, c’était un bon « break » et je me sentais contenté d’être dans un nouveau coin de la ville.

 

Dans les dernières semaines, j’ai demandé des gens du coin quel quartier sommes-nous situé.  La première personne que j’ai demandé à l’arrêt de l’autobus ma bien répondu mes pensés : « Ca dépends, est-ce qu’on parle du fédéral, le provincial… ou le municipale ?  Et ultimement vu que personne connaissait « Sainte-Marie » qui est le quartier officiel selon le site web de la ville de Montréal, ce monsieur a décider de répondre ou il demeurait avec le coin de rue majeur le plus près de chez lui.

  

Autres réponses que j’ai eu était “Ville Marie” mais j’ai essayé d’expliquer que c’était plus un arrondissement municipale qui étirait jusqu’au centre ville.  Au parc de chien (des Royaux) par contre j’ai reçu une réponse très claire de trois individus : « Sainte-Marie ».  Et sur le site web de la ville de Montréal, c’est écrit que ce quartier a deux stations de métros « Frontenac et Papineau ».  Hmm… je croyais que Papineau était dans Le Village.  Mais peut-être je me rapproche du nom du quartier malgré que c’est sous-utilisé ou moyennement connu.  Peut-être, mais je ne suis pas convaincu encore.  Cela dit, j’ai maintenant le goût d’aller a la bibliothèque pour faire de la recherche (ça fait longtemps que j’ai eu ce goût la), parler à d’autre gens du coin pour voir comment ce quartier a évolué et aller à plus d’évènements communautaires (la seule chose que j’ai fait à date est d’aller à un bazar à l’église polonaise il y a quelques semaines… ma femme est chanceuse que j’aime ça).  En tout cas, on verra qu’est-ce que je trouve prochainement.

 

Recent links that describe the neighbourhood/Liens qui décrit le quartier :

 

         Wikipedia : Sainte-Marie (en français)

         Wikipedia : Centre-Sud (en français)

         City of Montreal Website (en français)

 

 

Laisser un commentaire